top of page

8 Steps To Become Your True, Authentic-Self


I think it's safe to say that we all want to be ourselves and live our lives in a way that provides us with fulfillment and nourishment. Below are 8 ways to start practicing being more YOU everyday followed by a simple exercise to get you started. :~)

1. Go back to where you came from: I recently went to my home town in Ohio and there I regained a sense of who I have always been and parts of me that may have been forgotten over the years. It had been two years since I had been home and two years too long! What I rediscovered was joy in the simple things when I was a child like picking up sticks in the yard and walking barefoot in the soft grass. Music has always played an important role in my life as my Dad is a musician and has taught me a lot about the beauty in music. It's a part of my being that had been deeply missed and I am grateful for this time home to recapture my love for music that fills my soul!

2. Meditate: I do know the feeling of putting this off due to lack of time or fear of what might come up during the practice. This is why is is called a practice. Try to find 10 minutes everyday to start and increase slowly as you wish. Practice showing up with yourself by sitting, breathing, and being kind and gentle to what may come up. If you can clear the cobwebs little-by-little, you can get clear on who you are and what your true intentions may be.

3. Take action on what you need NOW: I used to do the opposite of this. I would get a hunch or intuitive feeling that would tell me what I needed in the moment but instead of actually doing it, I would give myself a reason to put it off because I had "responsible" things to do. Now, I know that the "responsible" thing to do is to nourish myself by following my body's needs. This is an incredibly important point; read more on how to find balance now here. :)

4. Surround yourself with people who inspire you: Yes! Love this one because we all need people to lift us up and inspire us to be our best selves. Does this mean that you may have to say "no" to others at times? Yes it does. Do what's best for you and your health. We are not meant to do everything by ourselves. Find mentors, friends, and professionals who you feel drawn to and you will be supported on your journey.

5. Be curious about yourself and the events taking place: The more I meditate, the more I can stop and be curious about the events unfolding in my life. I ask myself, "what is this?". When I ask myself this question, I may not get an answer but the curiosity is an answer in itself because you are digging deeper into your truth and authenticity. Notice your breathing during situations and notice your heart. Do you feel relaxed and open or shallow and closed? Why do you feel this way? There are no right or wrong answers. Simply notice how you feel and explore the curiosity.

6. Ask yourself, "is this true?": How can you tweak your reality to be just a little more true? We have all "tweaked" actions in our lives to make it suit us more like when working on a project, cooking, during yoga class, exercise, through our diet, etc. I encourage you to apply this to your daily thoughts, emotions, relationships, and actions to make it more you and more true. When you feel emotions or make assumptions and judgments ask yourself, "is this true?". Notice what happens when you practice your truth everyday. I think you will find more energy, peace, and joy in your life!

7. Get out of your comfort zone: How can we learn who we are if we stay in that safe and comforting space all of the time? It's difficult. I have taken many plunges in my life and I have learned from experience that as long as you stay true to who you are, then your risk taking can be very beneficial rather than detrimental. I advise to not take huge leaps of faith all at the same time but rather take it one step at a time. Read more about taking risks here. Our daily life is full of synchronicities and coincidences to help guide us on our path. I encourage you to be open to this and accept that there may be people, places, things, etc. that can help you become the best version of you. Listen, be aware, and let your heart, intuition, and mind come together to move you out of your comfort zone, little-by-little. :)

8. Listen to the body: Do you sigh and shrink when you think or talk about a particular subject or do you lift up with bright eyes? Do you think about a person or event and feel you heart open or tighten? Does your energy soar or crash when you are engaging in certain activities? Notice this and trust that your body knows exactly what it is doing.

Try this! Sit on the floor in a comfortable sitting position with no noise or distractions and notice your breathing. Your spine is upright with your neck long and relaxed. Notice when your mind starts to wander and tune in to your posture, face muscles, breathing, and heartbeat. What is happening in your body? What thought brought about this? This is how your body speaks to you. It can guide you to connect with your true self but you must practice listening and being mindful of your body and energy at all times.

"So, let the body speak for you now without saying a word, like a student walking behind a teacher says, this one knows better than I the way." ~ Rumi

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page